Burwood Briars First Grade Premiers 2020/21
Date of Event Sydney Shires Competition: Mon Mar 29, 2021 2:39PM
Burwood Briars First Grade Premiers 2020/21 (BJC Photography)

Burwood Briars were crowned the Sydney Shires First Grade Premiers after defeating minor premiers Epping Bulls at Bon Andrews Park (North Sydney Oval No.2) to claim the RB Clark Trophy for the 15th time.



After winning the toss Epping were dismissed for 138 with Akshay Nichkawde top scoring with 75 not out. Burwood opening bowler Jack Kovacic took 4/35 from 18 overs while spinner Brenton Wright took 4/26 from 17 overs. At stumps on Day One the Briars were in a good position finishing the day on 5/103.



When play resumed however Burwood struck trouble losing quick wickets to fall to 9/125 still 14 runs away from a first innings lead. Sam Tregeagle joined Kovacic for the last wicket partnership with Kovacic hit a boundary before Tregeagle took 10 runs from the following over to take the Briars into the lead. Burwood were dismissed quickly after, dismissed for 142 with a 4 run lead. Tom Moffitt was the best of the Burwood batsmen, top scoring with 44.



The Bulls, needing an outright victory to claim the premiership, came out in their second innings firing and made a quickfire 141 in just 24 overs to set Burwood a target of 137 with 51 overs remaining in the day. Wright was again amongst the wickets finishing with 2nd innings figures of 4/24 with Tregeagle taking 4/67. In pursuit of their target the Briars lost an early wicket before Arkashan Arora (60 no) and Thomas Burt (52 no) combined for a 123 run partnership to guide their team to a 9 wicket outright victory.



Captain Max Squires was presented the RB Clark trophy on behalf of his team with Jack Kovacic awarded the Peter Toohey Medal for the player of the match for his first innings bowling performance. 



Last updated: Monday March 29, 2021 2:58PM