Lindfield 2nd Grade Premiers
Date of Event Sydney Shires Competition: Fri Apr 9, 2021 10:09AM
Lindfield 2nd Grade Premiers 2020/21

Lindfield were crowned the Sydney Shires Second Grade Premiers after defeating Lane Cove in the Grand Final at Roseville Chase to claim the SJ Mayne Trophy.


Minor Premiers Lindfield won the toss and decided to bat and were immediately in trouble falling to 6/59. Some lower order contributions helped nudge the score along finally being dismissed for 115. Opener Luke Watson top scored with 24 spending 178 minutes at the crease. Lane Cove's Joe Camarsh was the best with ball finishing with figures of 4/38 off 18 overs.


In reply, Lane Cove's innings followed a similar story collapsing to 9/61 still 54 runs behind. Lindfield's Harry Banfield (3/53) and Jamie Gillard (3/14) did the damage to put their team well on top. However Lane Cove weren't going to give up without a fight with Andrew Robertson and Benjamin Greaves combining for the 10th wicket partnership. Both Robertson (33) and Greaves (21no) scored freely putting on a great partnership of 51 runs to have their team only 3 runs from victory before Robertson was run out to give Lindfield a 3 run lead.


Lindfield in their 2nd innings only required to bat the 2nd day out to secure the premiership. Wickets were harder to come by as the Lindfield batsmen combined for some healthy partnerships to blunt the Lane Cove attack. Lindfield were able to move their score onto 3/155 off 71 overs before the match was called with Lindfield declared a First Innings victory. Watson again top scored for Lindfield with 42 while Omer Farooq finished on 40no.


Lindfield's Luke Watson was named player of the final for a good all-round match scoring 24 and 42 aswell as taking 2/17 with the ball.


Captain Steve Watts was presented the SJ Mayne trophy on behalf of his team with Lindfield claiming their 4th Second Grade Premiership in their 98 year history and their first since 1994/95.

Last updated: Friday April 9, 2021 10:39AM