Date of Event Sydney Shires Competition: Tue Mar 17, 2020 5:49PM



Dear Players & Administrators,


The Shires Competition Sub Committee strongly support the Cricket NSW and the Sydney Cricket Association’s decision to stop playing cricket on medical advice due to the Coronavirus pandemic. As a result, all Shires Competitions and the Chappelow Cup have been cancelled for the remainder of the season. While it is disappointing to end the Shires season on this note we support Cricket Australia, Cricket NSW and the SCA in placing the welfare of all our players, officials and volunteers as a main priority.


The Shires Competition Sub Committee have agreed with the SCA’s decision to award premiership titles to the Minor Premier in each grade. It should be noted that in all grades the Minor Premiers advanced to the semi-final stage of the competition as the number one ranked side, after last weekend’s qualifying finals.


As a result of this decision, the following Premiership winners have been determined:

Shires First Grade (The RB Clark Cup) – Auburn CC

Shires Second Grade (The SJ Mayne Trophy) – Auburn CC

Shires Third Grade (The JB Hollander Cup) – Strathfield CC

Shires Fourth Grade (The Harry Culbert Trophy) – Strathfield CC

Shires Fifth Grade (The Tim Creer Cup) – Balmain South Sydney CC

The Chappelow Cup – Macquarie University CC


I empathise with all players who are in the middle of Finals Series as this is a devasting way for a season to end. I want to congratulate all players for their efforts this season and you should all be proud of your achievements. These are unprecedented times and it has been an extremely challenging season with extreme heat, air quality issues, torrentialrain and now Covid-19 and I want to commend all clubs and officials for their efforts through these challenging times.


On behalf of the Sub-Committee, I want to wish everyone a safe and healthy off-season and wish all the best to all players, volunteers, match officials and their families.


Stay safe and see you all again for Season 2020/21.

Yours Sincerely

John Biviano, Chairman


Shires Competition Sub-Committee: John Biviano (Chairman), Anthony Boorer (Deputy Chairman), Greg Cook, Daryl Chappelow, Anthony Clarke, Mike Wood. 

Last updated: Tuesday March 17, 2020 5:51PM