Date of Event : Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:44PM

Round 4 of the McDonald’s Sydney Shires Competition saw a return to the Limited Overs Fixtures as Lindfield posted their first victory of the season against Macquarie University at Lindfield Oval.


After being sent in the hosts got off to a shaky start when they found themselves 4/69 but a 161 run partnership between Thomas Cullen and Matthew Mee settled the ship and saw Lindfield post a reasonable total of 5/237 off their 50 overs. Mee was the star of the innings as he finished the innings 105 not out with Cullen provided great support with 82. Macquarie Uni lost wickets continually throughout their innings with Lindfield skipper Will Cook the chief destroyer finishing with figures of 6/43 off his 10 overs as the Students were dismissed for 164.


Epping made their way into the top 6 with a win against Roseville at Roseville Chase Oval. Epping batted first and reached 8/241 off their 50 overs thanks to an unbeaten 81 from Anthony Azize. Azize followed his 82* from Round 3 with 11 fours and a six to help Epping to a defendable score. Roseville, despite a 93 run partnership between Rhydd Burcham (53) and Ben Maher (58), fell 31 runs short with Sharan Rajendran the pick of the Epping bowlers with 3/39.


Georges River also made a move up the ladder with a bonus point victory against Strathfield at Bexley Oval. Georges River opener Chris McArthur led the way for the Blues with a score of 96 before some late order hitting from Andrew McGuiness (59 off 50 deliveries) helped the total to 7/213 off 50 overs. This proved too much for Strathfield as they were dismissed for just 84 in 29 overs with Georges River’s Pat Kennedy claiming figures of 4/16 on his teams way to a bonus point win.


In other news, Burwoods 2nd Grade piled on the runs at Rothwell Park against Pennant Hills as they amassed 6/403 off their 50 overs. Luka Kalic was the star making 132 which included 13 boundaries. Pennant Hills were never in the hunt being dismissed for 123 with Burwoods Craig Andrew taking 5/29 off 10 overs.



Luka Kalic: 132- Burwood Briars Cricket Club (Second Grade)

 Matthew Mee: 105* - Lindfield Cricket Club (First Grade)

Gundeep SIngh Gill: 98 - Auburn District Cricket Club (Fourth Grade)

Christopher McArthur: 96 - Georges River Cricket Club (First Grade)

Yousaf Y Sethi: 91* - Strathfield Cricket Club (Fourth Grade)

Isaac Kensell: 85 - Lane Cove Cricket Club (Third Grade)

Thomas Cullen: 82 - Lindfield Cricket Club (First Grade)

Alex N Daniels: 81 - North West Sydney Cricket Club (First Grade)

Anthony A Azize: 81* - Epping Bulls Cricket Club (First Grade)



William Cook: 6/43 - Lindfield Cricket Club (First Grade)

Ben Saunders: 5/10 - Georges River Cricket Club (Second Grade)

Samuel Greaves: 5/18 - Lane Cove Cricket Club (Third Grade)

Mark Henning: 5/19 - Epping Bulls Cricket Club (Third Grade)

Craig Andrews: 5/29 - Burwood Briars Cricket Club (Second Grade)

Naman Ganjekar: 5/31 - Epping Bulls Cricket Club (Third Grade)

Last updated: Tuesday November 20, 2018 2:50PM