Frank Gray Shield Round 2
Date of Event : Tue Nov 27, 2018 12:07PM

Warringah have remained unbeaten after two Rounds of the Frank Gray Shield with a nail-biting one wicket victory over Roseville. Batting first Roseville managed to compile 189 with Aden Perry top scoring with 51 while Warringah’s Luke Parkinson and Tully Moffat both took 3 wickets.

Warringah’s chase was hampered with the loss of regular wickets and were in trouble at 8/127. A 9th wicket partnership of 57 runs between Glyn Archer and Cobi Stevens got Warringah close before Stevens was dismissed still 6 runs shy of victory. The final wicket pair got their team home however with just 2 balls remaining in the match. Archer remained undefeated on 38 while Roseville’s Charlie Davies did his best to get his side over the line with bowling figures of 4/21 off his 10 overs.


Strathfield recorded their first win for the season with a victory over Balmain South Sydney. Strathfield won the toss and sent Balmain South Sydney in to bat and that decision was justified when BSS were dismissed for just 131 off 33.1 overs. Strathfield’s Dane Twining and Ethan Sebastien both claiming 3 wickets. Strathfield always seemed in control in their run chase, despite some late wickets, and they reached their target off 34 overs with 3 wickets still in hand.


Auburn also brought up their first victory of the season with a win over North West Sydney. Coming off the bye last week, Auburn batted first and managed to make 185 with Tahsinullah Sultani (60) and Shafeeq Nouree (50) scoring the bulk of the runs. NWS were in trouble immediately at one stage being 4/21 and they were eventually dismissed for 145 falling 40 runs short of their target. NWS Captain Tait Bensemann did his best to inspire his side scoring 52 but Auburn bowler Ryan Wherritt was the star with the amazing match figures of 5/9 off 9 overs to help his side claim the 6 points.


In other matches Epping, Lane Cove and Burwood all brought up bonus point wins while Macquarie Uni and Georges River both had the bye.

Last updated: Tuesday November 27, 2018 12:10PM